Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

Some people claim that high school curriculum should include a mandatory neighbourhood duty which would be done by students for free. While the positive impacts are obvious of such programmes, there are people who believe that community service is something students should choose to do and not be forced upon. In this essay I will discuss why, in my opinion, high school students’ service to communities is a great idea but should not be compulsory. To start with, introducing high school students to neighbourhood use is beneficial to both sides, communities and students themselves. We see many of communities struggle due to having not enough funding and, as a result, encountering many problems, such as charities running low and our elderly not being taken care of properly. Unpaid service of high institute students would not only help to fix this problem, but also would provide students with a great way of understanding how to work and help to the society at the same time. However, I believe that high schools should include community duty programmes as optional for students to choose although award them for selecting this curriculum. Students would look differently at something they can actually choose from rather than being forced to do. To conclude, I strongly believe that high schools should promote their students to take on unpaid community service and consequently award them for doing so. As a result, we would see remarkable and positive impacts to the communities.