In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

In most parts of the world, there has been a rise in the number of people who are affected by severe mental health issues. The two main causes are the abundant tension of work or study, and financial problems due to overspending. These problems can be solved by promoting social activities outside of the office and proper management of our financial structures. The first issue that can cause stress is the excessive pressure from work or education. This problem happens due to high-demanding objectives from the upper-management level or even lecturers. Research concluded that the number of suicides among university students in the Netherlands has significantly increased over the decade, the main reason for this action is the learners are unable to cope with the difficulty in some subjects. One preventive technique that can be utilised to tackle this issue is to introduce the work-life balance to employees or students. For example, the company management can organise an outdoor activity that relieves the stress between workers and their supervisors. Also, for the students, being involved in extracurricular activities such as sports and arts could be beneficial to reduce stress levels. The second issue that can contribute to the stress level is related to financial aspects. Many individuals have difficulty paying the repayments for online loans and credit cards. These are caused by overspending that exceeds their financial capability. Therefore, they are left with minimum alternatives to repay the money which can lead to severe anxiety and pressure. This hindrance could be measured by limiting our own expenditures and only spending on something that is indispensable in our lives rather than purchasing tertiary stuff. Moreover, arranging the income into several bank accounts could limit unnecessary spending. In conclusion, the excessive pressure from the workplace and difficulties in the financial sector can elevate the stress level of some people. Countermeasures such as implementing work-life balance action and limiting our budget could alleviate the hindrance.