Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

Some people argue that expenditure of government budget should be mainly on the construction of railway tracks rather than roads. I agree with this opinion as the railway tracks will improve public transport and result in economy of fuel. The rulers spending money on railway tracks rather than roads will result in fuel economy. In other words, with the development of railway people will avoid travelling on roads and consequently less fuel will be burnt. This saving of fuel will be useful for the public as it provides them monetary benefit. In addition, it will be environmentally friendly as well, which is requirement of time in this ever increasing global warming. The burning of fuels releases large amount of carbon dioxide, which is hazardous for the environment so the step of improvement of railway system will be beneficial for the environment as well. The improvement of the rail line system rather road will improve the traffic congestion as well. Nowadays every person is in possession of a personal car and prefers to go to job on his own car rather than public transport. The traffic congestion and jams almost always result in employees reaching their offices late which results in reduced productivity. With the improvement in rail tracks in city people will avoid this hassle of traffic and reach office fresh and more productive which is not possible with terrible transit jam. In conclusion, the money spent on the railways can prove extremely beneficial for the general public rather than building roads which are responsible for ever increasing pollution.