Due to the development of the internet, public libraries are no longer necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that with the development of the internet, public libraries are not required any longer. I totally agree with this statement. Also, I would opine that the availability of information on online websites and access to ebooks has eliminated the need to have public libraries. The primary reason why the internet is preferred to libraries is the huge amount of information available online. This is to say that almost everyone around the world can access any type of data / information and acquire knowledge. Many educational websites and blogs are available on the internet, and the information is related to not only subjects like maths, science, history, and computer programming languages but also other major courses. For example, research by The Guardian revealed that 92% of computer science students at the University of Texas used an online site “Udemy” to learn coding languages like Java and Python language. The availability of ebooks on the internet and websites is eliminating the need for libraries. This is because when ebooks were not available in the past, many people used to visit libraries to gather and read information related to research, assignment, and projects, but ebooks have made it more convenient and easy for people to complete their research projects from the comfort of their homes without visiting the library. For instance, a survey conducted by the New York Times revealed that more than 97% of master’s students in the University of Pennsylvania used ebooks to complete their thesis projects instead of going to the library. In conclusion, it seems to me that the advancement of the internet eliminated the need for libraries; people can acquire any kind of information to complete their research assignments and projects through educational websites and ebooks. It is highly recommended that public libraries are much of importance.