The most important aim of scinece should be to improve patient's lives. To what extent do you agrree or disagree with this statement?

Science has developed at a very rapid pace in the last two centuries. It has helped in bringing reforms to help people live a healthy and better life. Although, there are some aspects other than people's comfort that need explanation by the scientists, I agree that the main objective of scientific innovation should be upgradation of living standards of the population. Before the technological era, the communities used to face many problems. Mnay new discoveries have helped to provide solutions. Firstly, in helath sector, the discovery of penicillin was a medical miracle that prevented loss of precious lives due to infections.There are hundreds of other medical inventions which have eased the suffering of humanity.Antituberculous drugs for tuberculosis, thrombolysis and angioplasty for heart attack, chemotherapy and radiotherapy for cancer are just a few examples. Secondly, the engineering revolution has enabled us to travel long distances in a very short span of time. For instance, aeroplanes, trains and motor vehicles have made it possible to explore the world which was once thought to be impossible. Thirdly, the nanotechnology and genetic engineering has played an important role in the field of agriculture thus helping combat famines. Moreover, the communication tools like smartphones have provided an opportunity to communicate with friends and families abroad. Furthermore, the internet has given access to every required information with just one click. We need the help of science in other fields as well. For example, in understanding the outer world, we need space shuttles and satellites. Also, the research on plants and animals is required to preserve the ecosystem.Sometimes, the unique discoveries have been used for nefarious designs like the use of energy equation to make an atomic bomb that killed millions of people. This negative utility of invention has disastrous consequences for mankind. To summarize, I think the main purpose of scientific revolution should be to provide better quality of life for the population.Other experiments should not be at the cost of comfort and lives of human beings.