All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affect both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity, How could it be tackled?

Nations worldwide are dealing with the increasing issue of obesity which is a cause for concern for all age groups. There are two main causes, overconsumption of fast food and lack of exercise. Possible solutions would be a government tax on fast food and special incentives for gym membership to get people exercising. One of the reasons that people are becoming overweight these days is that they are eating more junk food, ready meals and convenience food rather than cooking healthy meals at home. This is because many people tend to lead a busy life, so after a long day at work, it is easier to just buy convenience food or get a takeaway. For instance, a 2015 Report by the UK government found that sales of these types of foods have risen considerably in the past 20 years. To tackle this issue the government should take steps to increase tax on trans fats, high sugar or unhealthy foods. Therefore, people would think twice about the foods they consume which could lead to them losing weight. Another problem that needs to be considered is a lack of exercise. As a result of leading a hectic life with work commitments, many people are just too tired to go to the gym or join a sports club. For example, after work, the vast majority of people prefer to come home and sit in front of the TV. Furthermore, when people have time o􀃠 they tend to relax rather than go to a gym. One possible solution is for employers to consider the well being of their employees and o􀃠er in-house company gyms or special incentives, such as discounts to join sports or fitness clubs. If this is implemented it would have a positive effect on peoples health and a reduction in weight gain. In conclusion, being overweight is an increasing issue because of consumption of fast food, convenience foods and not enough exercise due to work commitments. The government needs to look at taxing fast food and companies should set up incentives for gyms, sports or