Question: Many people decide on a career path early in their life and keep to it. This, they argue, leads to a more satisfying working life. To what extent do you agree with this view? What other things can people do in order to have a satisfying working life?

It is widely acknowledged that job satisfaction is one of the most fundamental targets in people’s desire. However, opinions about methods to have a satisfying career are now polarizing. While a school of thought holds the idea that a better satisfying working life can be achieved by choosing early a job and spending the rest of life on it, I strongly believe that job satisfaction is also accomplished by changing our initial job to another. On the one hand, it is understandable that why a lot of workers advocate their consistence with their early job to get a sense of working satisfaction in their whole life. The foremost key in favour of this view is that if people pursue the initial career, they can progressively accumulate more and more experience from these jobs to handle better with their jobs. In other words, given that the long time they spend in their jobs, they can have a profound perspective about what they do and how they achieve numerous difficult tasks in their careers, hence their more successful careers. Furthermore, a higher salary can be earned when one which has good results in their tasks may be promoted into a prominent position in their company or their organisations. On the other hand, although the aforementioned idea is valid to some extent, I would argue that workers can change their previous careers to gain more satisfying experience. To begin with, there are now a myriad of job opportunities in our society which people can choose to get better incomes and perks or even more promotion chances in lieu of their initial jobs as long as they can achieve enough necessary skills to apply new jobs. I perfectly exemplify this case. When I had practiced enough in my first job in a chemical company, I gained numerous important skills and a huge repository of advanced chemistry knowledge. And after I changed to another company, I have received an expected salary and some privileges which I might be not achieved if I kept on my previous job. Besides that, I have realized that I can continue studying more knowledge and experience in my new company. This bears a testament to how people can change their previous jobs to achieve their more satisfying working life. In conclusion, a decision in an early career path and focusing on it may go a long way towards giving more job satisfaction for a worker; however, I believe we can choose a better job instead of our earlier jobs to have greater working satisfactions.