People often do not interact with their neighbours and this is harming community building. What are the possible causes and solutions?

Nowadays people rarely communicate with their neighbours and this has a negative impact on building society. Although the modern man’s lifestyle has been changed hectically and families are more cautious about their privacy, there are still some ways for being sociable in the neighbourhood. This essay will examine the main causes of loss of sociability and possible solutions of this problem. In my point of view, to live in the industrialized world has made us spend more hours away from home, so we have less free time, which is mostly allocated to relaxing and concerning family matters rather than engaging with neighbours. In addition, regarding the increased rate of crimes, people are not only more cautious about their surroundings, but also more suspicious of the strange people they encounter. Consequently, while friendly relationships between neighbours are fading, people have been isolated behind the closed doors. Some possible solutions to this problem are organizing social meetings and promoting the sense of community in the neighbourhood. By arranging public events and building social gathering places such as parks and recreation centres, we can improve taking part in the society and prevent community separation. Moreover, more positive news and events should have been highlighted in the local media, which have a crucial role in the forming a committed civil society. To conclude, people’s lifestyles that lead them to not communicate with their neighbours have a negative impact on community building. However, we can significantly increase sense of community in the society by encouraging neighbourhood meeting and optimistic attitude.