Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an idea that people need to prepare for retirement by themselves so the governments do not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people. This essay will explain that the governments must provide that support for several reasons. People these days have more knowledge regarding financial management due to the modern era, especially young people. In the current years, there are plenty of options to save money, such as banks, stocks, obligations, etc. Besides that, the economic inflation every year can not be prevented so this will affect the market price that will always increase. For example, a motorcycle that used to cost only 8 million rupiahs 20 years ago, now already increased to 12 million rupiahs which is already 50% higher. This condition is the main reason why people need to prepare their pension fund as soon as possible. Everyone already knew that they should prepare money for the future, to be specific after they will not work again. But the problem is that not all people have the same economic conditions. Imagine a father who already has 1 wife and 3 children, but he only got 5 million rupiahs monthly to fulfil the needs of his whole family. With that condition, he can not save money for his future, because he barely survives for just basic needs. The government should be aware of this condition because it is not a rare case, especially in developed countries. In conclusion, the government must remain prepared to give financial support to a retired person since not all families have good economic conditions. Maybe, they can use the tax that is already paid to them so everyone will have savings also from their monthly salary.