Some people consider art to be essential and others think it is not. Which view do you agree with and why?

Art, such as music, paintings etc. Has always been an integral part of any community's culture and tradition, depicting its rich heritage and the history of its people. In spite of art being an important part of human life, some consider it inessential. In my opinion, art has a major role in human mind development and must be considered equally important to other subjects such as mathematics, science etc. Some sections of the society, on one hand, consider arts subject as a waste of time and promote that subjects such as physics, chemistry, mathematics must be taught more extensively. This is because, many are of them have an opinion that careers in engineering, medical, research etc. Attract higher salaries and a better living. For example, a survey amongst the engineering students in Mumbai revealed that 60% of them choose the field with the intention of landing a high salary job. However, this conception is wrong as there are many promising opportunities in the field of arts too. Many those who consider art as inessential, are unaware about its advantages in the brain development. Art has been proven to enhance the cognitive ability of children as well as adults. It helps the learner to be more creative; the skill which will prove to be very useful in today's competitive world. For example, in a survey conducted by the National Human Resource Management, out of 100,000 respondents, 30,000 responded saying to have taken some sort of artistic classes in their early childhood days which helped them to be successful in their lives. In conclusion, the subject of art has brought many developments into our lives, and in my opinion is an important part of human civilization. The negative implication of learning art, that it does not help find better opportunities, is outweighed by the role it plays in the development of the human mind.