Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour. How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

When we enter any store or supermarket to buy something, not only do we usually face the problem of choosing the right commodity based on its configurations, but we also notice that it comes in different colours. So how do we choose the product we need? Do we base our opinion solely on technical criteria, or do we also (whether it is conscious or not) pay attention to the colour of the item? For instance, let us imagine a situation when we need to purchase a new smartphone. We made our decision on the brand, then on the model, we took into account all the technical details and characteristics required, and eventually, we saw that the only available hue for this phone was bright pink. For some people, this is a perfect match; however, if you don't like this shade you simply won't buy this device, even if all characteristics suit you perfectly. It would be repulsive purely on a subconscious level. Furthermore, major enterprises know, that colour has a major effect on the purchasing power of clients. Depending on the market, producers choose the right palette to rightly affect customers’ minds. For example, creative individuals such as musicians, artists, painters or just people who want to stand out from the crowd would rather choose bright-coloured clothes, while corporate office employees would go for a more neutral-coloured shirt, pants or jackets. Therefore, different clothing lines come in different colours - to attract a specific type of buyer. In conclusion, I firmly believe that colour has a tremendous effect on our decision to buy something. Whether we are aware of it or not, it plays a crucial role in our final choice.