Consumers are faced with increasing number pf advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Recently, we have experienced the proliferation of advertisements from companies in the fierce competition in the commercial market. This essay will outline adverse effects of this phenomenon on consumers and suggest some methods to mitigate them. There are some drawbacks customers have to be faced with when they are bombarded with a huge number of advertisements. The first disadvantage is that they are lured into purchasing necessary products. Consequently, if people make impulsive purchases, they may not only be in debt but also be prone to diseases such as cardiovascular disease or respiratory problems caused by those goods when they are discharged as trash. Other than that, unhealthy lifestyle, particularly the fast food culture in the modern society, can be attributed to the boom in advertisements. For example, advertisements of junk food that contains the high level of fat and sugar can be considered as a culprit behind excessive consumption of this kind of food, which causes the surge in the rate of obesity. People can implement some appropriate solutions for the sake of the protection from the impacts of advertisements. First of all, training programs which equip citizens with the necessary knowledge and skills to manage their personal finance and deter them from overbuying play an essential role. That is the reason why the government has to allocate their financial resources to run them. Moreover, the harsh law is more powerful than any tools; therefore, the authorities should impose stringent punishments on advertisements whose contents can deteriorate public health. All in all, the deterioration of public physical well-being and financial burdens may result from the situation in which advertisements gain increasing popularity. To tackle it, education and severe regulations are rational approaches.