Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed that living in a country where you are not fluent in its local language can lead to crucial social and practical challenges. I am in favour of this statement and my reasons will be discussed in the following paragraphs. First of all, the language barrier can prevent you from socializing with the locals, hence creating difficulty in making friends. Having a social circle is essential for foreigners because they usually live far away from their support system, such as family. Not being able to build meaningful relationships with other people might eventually cause mental health problems. For instance, many Indonesian students in Germany are stressed because they are not able to adapt to the social and academic life in Germany due to the absence of German friends. Secondly, living in a foreign country with poor local language skills can hinder you from giving important information during an emergency. Unexpected situations, such as accidents, can certainly happen anytime. To cite an example, an immigrant can get involved in a car crash, therefore he needs an immediate procedure from a doctor. However, the failure to explain what he actually feels due to limited language ability can put medical personnel in difficulty to decide the most appropriate treatments. In conclusion, an immigrant or a foreigner can face many difficulties both in social and practical contexts if they do not have sufficient skills in languages spoken in the country they live in. I completely agree with this notion because such a circumstance can cause problems in socializing and conveying essential information during emergency situations.