Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?”

Many educational specialists argue that second language learning should commence in first school instead of high school. While I contend that it could be too taxing for youngsters to learn two languages while at primary school, I agree with the experts overall and believe the benefits of doing this overpower the drawbacks. To begin with, if a young child is learning not only his native language, but also one that is foreign to him, he may struggle so much that his acquisition of both suffers. This could happen because children at this age are already overloaded with new experiences to learn from. For instance, for the first time in most of their lives, they are entering classroom environments, learning to accept the authority of teachers and developing relationships with their peers. Having to study a second language on top of this, then, would likely make them feel too stressed and lead them to underperform in their studies. Despite this problem, primary school age is still the optimum time to learn foreign languages. It has been identified as the golden age for this purpose since it is when the brain is particularly malleable and language acquisition skills are at their strongest. This window of rapid development begins to close as one enters puberty, and so it is ideal for pupils to begin acquiring new languages as early as possible. Furthermore, young children are less self-conscious than teenagers, which is particularly advantageous when practising a new language. If a young child mispronounces a word which makes people laugh, for example, he will probably not become too disheartened and should be able to move on easily. Adolescents, on the other hand, tend to get embarrassed in such situations and be less willing to try again for fear of failure. In conclusion, even though studying multiple languages would initially be overwhelming for most primary school children, I think doing this is best because of the neurological and psychological advantages they would have.