Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time walking?

It is said that the number of people walking daily has been decreasing gradually. While there are numerous underlying reasons, its roots might lie in the popularity of modern means of transportation and sports. However, this issue can be tackled by organizing appealing activities. To start with, there are numerous reasons for the phenomenon. The first and foremost one is the rise of motor vehicles. Cars and motorbikes can be taken as prime examples. They have now been improved in terms of appearance, speed, and price; hence, individuals are more likely to drive to work instead of travelling on foot. Second, because their living standard is improved, they are able to afford numerous sports such as gym and yoga which are presumably far more interesting and more efficient to improve their health than taking a stroll. Ultimately, there is apparently little motivation whatsoever for anyone to prioritize walking. Notwithstanding this, various interesting methods can be implemented to address the aforementioned problem. Specifically, holding a competition is bound to motivate society members to spend more time going on foot; for instance, many companies reward their employees who have the biggest monthly number of footsteps. In addition, the local government should provide new facilities which likely encourage the habit of jogging. For example, they can decorate or build pedestrians where many amusing activities such as street dance or singing take place. Consequently, more and more citizens may go for a walk for either healthy or entertaining purposes. In conclusion, the decreased frequency of walking is mainly due to the popularity of new travelling vehicles and interesting sporty activities. Nevertheless, gamification and infrastructure refreshment will efficiently encourage individuals to go for a walk.