Doctors recommend that older people should exercise regularly. However, many of them do not exercise enough. What are the causes? What can be done to encourage them?

One of the most daunting challenges facing today's world is the fact that even though doctors advise seniors to exercise often, a number of them do not take the recommendation of exercising. This essay will examine the fundamental causes of this ever-growing phenomenon and will outline practical solutions. There are numerous factors contributing to seniors' non-existent exercise habits; chief among them the fact that, they lose the motivation easily owing to the fact that the believe nothing could be changed after a certain age. This leads to having a sedentary life, resulting in serious health problems as they lose muscle tissues easily when they get older. This has been evidenced by countless academic studies the latest of which is one published by the University of China in 2018 concluding that 75% of older individuals do not believe that they should exercise regularly and, as a result of that most of them have joint problems especially on their knees as they lose the flexibility. The study further shows that, older people who obey the doctors' recommendation about exercising can continue having an active life without health problems. Fortunately, there are several viable solutions regarding encouraging elderly population for physical activities, the most effective of which is raising awareness about the negative impact of sedentary life and proving sport facilities for them. It is government's responsibility to fund and sponsor business entities which aim at seniors. This provides an opportunity for older people to work out in specialized areas leading to a dramatic decrease in health problems. According to the latest statistics released by the Seniors' Health Committee of Sydney in 2019 indicates that if the government supports entrepreneurs to open a gym for seniors, elderly would feel comfortable to exercise without risk of injuries. Moreover, if the seniors exercise more often, they can reduce having a heart attack and a seizure risk by 50%. In conclusion, disobeying doctors' recommendation in terms of doing an exercise regularly by seniors is primarily caused by not being motivated. However, there are several solutions to eradicate this problem, the most practical of which are raising awareness of the negative impact on their health and providing sport facilities which are suitable for them.