Modern forms of communication such as email and messaging have reduced the amount of time people spend seeing their friends. This has had a negative effect on their social lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the advent of new technologies has brought many advantages to our lives. However, many people believe that modern communicative tools including email and messaging have negatively affected their social lives. In my view, I partly agree with this view. This essay will analyse the reasons behind my opinion. On the one hand, modern technologies have made our lives more convenient. By using social media, people can keep in touch with their long-distance relationships. What is more, people can use online platforms to communicative whenever they are in need. For example, during Covid-19 pandemic, it was impossible for employees to directly present at work and gather to have a meeting. Thanks to internet-based tools such as Zoom or Google Meet, they could organise online discussions to complete their projects. Additionaly, teachers also employed online teaching skills through virtual classrooms during that time, making such abilities a requirement for 21st-century educators. On the other hand, social media has greatly reduced the time people spend meeting their friends. It is undeniable that many teenagers are now too focused on their phones even when they are enjoying outdoor activities. For instance, some children meet up with their friends at a cafe and most of the time, they will end up scrolling their Facebook page without talking to each other. This has led to a reduction in people's communicative skills. Gradually, young generations will no longer be equipped with interpersonal skills, which are top priorities in today's world. Consequently, they cannot meet the demand of their future employers. In conclusion, while technological advancement has made communication easier, it also limits the frequency of face-to-face conversations in our daily life. However, online communication is not solely to blame. How people choose to spend their quality time is one of the most crucial factors leading to an unhealthy lifestyle. It is our responsibilities to balance the pros and cons that technology has brought.