With a growing world population one of the most pressing issue is that of feeding such large number of people. Some people think that GM food a viable solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the increasing population across the world, it is important to consider how to feed such large populace. Many people argue that GM food can be a solution to this problem, and I tend to agree with them. This essay is going to explain my views with relevant examples. Firstly, one important advantage of GM foods is that they can produce a greater yield. This is because GM seeds are usually genetically modified to be resistant to several diseases and insects. For example, but cotton, a GM seed, is resistant to diseases as it produces a bacteria that acts as a shield for the disease-causing germs. If we did not use GM, then there might not be enough produce to satisfy the population demands, as naturally grown plants are not resistant to diseases. Furthermore, the genes of a fruit or a vegetable can be modified to increase its size, and also nutrition value. This can be helpful as a single plant can produce much larger fruits thus effectively increasing the yield. For instance, a single apple, which is double the size of naturally produced one, from these plants can suffice a person who usually consumes more than one. Conversely, if we depend on natural produce, it can lead to food scarcity as natural plants cannot produce the quantity produced by GM plants. In conclusion, GM food provides the advantage of increased yield, size and nutritional value, and in my opinion, can be a possible alternative for naturally grown food to meet the demands of ever-increasing population growth.