Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the Western world, universities have created course options for students, where they can select any subjects from different areas to gain credits for graduation. In the present scenario, some scholars are interested in learning about different topics in addition to their majors, while others focus only on their area of specialisation. As such, this essay will discuss both choices with some examples and conclude that both are valid choices. Firstly, there are undergraduates who choose supplementary courses in addition to the main one because of sheer interest, which brings them some sort of happiness and satisfaction. For example, a person who is pursuing medicine might be attracted towards studying for some credits in music. It would be helpful in his career as a doctor too, because he can utilize music as a way of therapy for his patients. So learning other subjects over the main ones can help that individual to gain more knowledge, not be burnt out and earn more in the future. On the other hand, some believe that concentrating on one subject in which they want to have a career is the best path to take, making them more efficient and scoring better grades. Such individuals are more likely to be passionate about their work. To illustrate, if a student is studying medicine at a university, he would choose to study pathology for extra credits instead of a course in humanities, because it deals with the analysis of body tissues for diagnostic purposes. So, spending more time and effort in concurrent areas will help the student not only to score high in their major but also gain more understanding of it. To sum up, there are pros and cons of studying extra subjects, as it could reshape the lives of undergraduates as they realize their interest in that course. Whereas, applying extra efforts in the same curriculum area as one's major would help that individual to be an expert.