Many people are travelling to other countries. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, tourism exerts several integral impacts on both travellers and the host country. Every coin has two sides; from my perspective, the burgeoning growth of travel not only bring several merits but also causes many deficiencies in our life. From my perspective, there foremost reason spurring the increase of the travel industry is in response to the travellers’ curiosity. Nowadays, people, from all ages, have a big budget for travelling and with the improvement of transportation, which granted people ready access to remote locations of the world. For example, cheap airfare encourages people to go to various places in a luxury or standard way in the world. Moreover, travellers want to experience different sites to broaden their horizon, acquire more about the diversity of different culture and refresh their mind. A typical example is when travelling to Vietnam, tourists have a chance to use chopstick, try the Vietnamese cuisine, which is loaded with vegetable mixed with its unique sauce. The influx of international travellers poses some hidden pitfalls for local inhabitants. Tourism may create pollution and waste. For instance, travellers may throw away litters and spit on the pavement. Furthermore, when tourism is developing, not only excessive buildings like roads, hotels, but also the building of facilities and infrastructure can destroy natural habitat and landscapes. Even worse, incidences of crimes, prostitutions and antisocial activities like drugs, human trafficking and gambling, which affect the values of the indigenous society are rising day by day. In conclusion, it appears to me that the tourism industry has both merits and demerits.