Of all the global environmental problems, desertification is, perhaps, the most threatening for poor rural people. Desertification is the expansion of desert lands into previously non-desert areas. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

In the today’s world, with the influence of increasing population and natural changes, various environmental problems occur, such as desertification, which can be defined as the expansion of desert areas. This problem may be extremely dangerous for people. Although some causes, which may affect individuals and nations badly, bring about desertification issue, there are several ways which can be offered to deal with this problem. There are some causes which lead to desertification issue. One of these, deforestation, is a man-made cause. People usually prefer to cut-down lots of trees to construct buildings, which is a really detrimental problem for the land humanity have. The main cause is the wrong farming planning which arranged by the government. When farmers do not do the right irrigation for agricultural fields, the soil does not be fertile and for this reason drought may occur. Besides, overgrazing and the overusing of chemical substances may affect the soil adversely too. The causes above might have lots of impact on the lands. As a result of the deforestation, natural habitat and the animals may extinct because of not having forests. Also, the land may get weaken due to the absence of trees, and people may face erosion problem. Moreover, since the lowness of oxygen which is produced by trees, air pollution may occur. With the mismanagement of farming, there may be losses of fruitfulness of soil so this can be risky for the production and the quality of agricultural goods. When the problems and their effects examined closely, there are several ways to cope with the issue of desertification. The solution for deforestation is planting trees and carrying out their maintenance regularly. Therefore, with the addition of some beneficial substances, the land may be productive and fertile again. One of the solutions of wrong farming is the re-arrangement of irrigation. If the government offers educational programs for farmers about the irrigation and true way of farming, this may be help for preventing the issue of desertification. Furthermore, giving support to farmers by the government may be advantageous for farming. In conclusion, desertification can be the most hazardous problem among the other environmental issues. However, despite the fact that its the thing named or in question it causes can affect people and lands badly, the problem of expansion of desert areas can be dealt with by offering some beneficial solutions. By arranging right farming management and taking precautions for not cutting-down the trees, this problem can be solved. It is recommended that the government and people who have a role in the field of agriculture work together and make decisions about it.