Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Population has increased dramatically in most countries around the world, especially in urban areas. Beside fostering the economic development, the increase of the population makes societies to cope with a number of unanticipated new problems. This essay will address some of the serious issues and propose solutions. One of the major problems of overcrowding in urban areas is the high cost of living, it is widely accepted that exceeding population exerts pressure on resources for survival and the difficulty of accessing to a consistent supply of shelter, security, fresh food and water, health care. Although, the difference between demand and supply continues to expand, and the price of commodities is getting higher, which requires people to pay more to survive and feed their families. Another challenge is the degradation of the environment. Overuse of coal, oil, gas, together with a rise in the number of vehicles and industries led to air and water pollution. Additionally, environmental pollution combined with bad living conditions causes new epidemics and pandemics. There are several solutions to tackle these problems. Firstly, governments should encourage people to settle in suburban areas, by giving people easy loans for new infrastructures and provide them all the facilities for their better the living conditions. Secondly, the authorities can run cleanup campaigns to clean the cities, which may help to decrease infectious diseases. Finally, governments across the globe ought to impose family planning and birth control to combat the stress of high population density in big cities. To recapitulate, enormous social problems such as: poor living standard, high pollution levels and the increase of human diseases, are triggered by overcrowded in metropolitan cities. Failure to tackle this problem now will lead to a disaster in the future.