Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

In most countries, the primary feature in our school systems is the tests and examinations. These are the main tools to evaluate our students, whether they fully understand the subject or not. It’s easy for both teachers and schools to conduct these kinds of evaluations, but it does not ensure the success of its students. Also, testing isn’t the only way to predict the future of our students. Consequences from examinations may affect the education systems in the long run. The uses of using the exams as the key instrument to grade our children are widely seen. It spreads across the world from east to west, ranging from school final exams to entrance exams in order to enrol in colleges. For example, China is using its centralized examination called “Gao Kao” as the only requirement for entering universities in China. As most Chinese parents, teachers, schools and even students themselves consider it as the “fairest” competition for a seat in the college. Also, other Asian countries also agree that exams are easy for schools to select applicants from around the country. Exams provide a clear-cut result, whether the student is prepared for university. Hence, exams are a popular feature in grading students and predicting their successes in college years. Despite its convenience of conducting test sittings and making evaluations of the results, exams aren’t the guaranteed stamps on the students that they’re going to do well in colleges. Commonly, students would just cram in only a few periods with all their notes which sometimes even borrowed from others. Some students may even result in stress and depression. Other things that exams can’t tell are soft skills which can’t be graded but still achieved during years at schools. For instance, these are lifelong learning skills, communication skills, critical thinking skills, and so on. Some countries tried to measure these skills, but failed to do so. So, there is more to put into considerations that students are successful or not other than exams. The school’s central feature is maybe exams, but those tests shouldn’t be the only way of predicting our children’s successes. Exams can’t measure all aspects of the skills and knowledge students achieved. It also causes unnecessary health implications for them. Exam drawbacks may outweigh its benefits.