Many people find it difficult to speak in front of and to present to an audience. It is believed that this skill should be taught in school. Why is this important? To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

Nowadays, presenting and giving a speech in front of an audience is daunting task for many people; therefore, some individuals believe that the skill of public speaking should be incorporated into school syllabus and taught to students. Undoubtedly, this skill is imperative for everyone as it increases their confidence level and I am of the opinion that schools should contribute to the communication development of children as it is associated with their professional life. It is a known fact that schools play an instrumental role in children’s lives. If skills are cultivated at the early stage of their life, the probability of becoming a well-rounded person in society is very high. In particular, they become confident about themselves, which stimulates them to do more achievements in their life. A study at The University of Toronto found that the students who mastered the speaking techniques in schools and involved in public speeches are more successful in their lives than those who were reluctant in front of an audience. Thus, it does signify the importance of public speaking ability. I firmly believe that one can reap numerous benefits by learning such skills because of the fact that communication is a key to many opportunities. Although people obtain several technical aptitudes to become successful, those who reach the pinnacle of their career are the ones who excel their presenting skills. The Chief Executive Office of an eminent organization Apple Inc, for instance, had no technical and corporate skills, but became a leader of one of the tech giant companies because of his remarkable communication skills, which inspired his employers and led to the invention of revolutionary technologies such as smart phones. In conclusion, this essay discussed that the skill of speaking in front of people is crucial and should be possessed by children in schools and I believe that it helps them to forge their successful career in this era of globalisation.