In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, fast- food culture has led to an increase in health-related problems. Whilst some argue that reducing diet-related illness should be a personal responsibility, others contend that governments should tackle this trend by imposing substantial taxes on unhealthy food in order to reduce consumption. I firmly agree with the latter viewpoint and will explain my position. To begin with, people purchase fast food on a daily basis because it offers convenience and affordability. This means that if authorities impose taxes, many people, especially low-income groups, will find it harder to afford these items. Therefore, lower consumption could considerably reduce the burden on healthcare services, which are mostly used to treat diseases related to junk food. For instance, a 2023 study in France showed that a 76% decline in the total consumption of junk food occurred after the government introduced a higher tax on every restaurant. Furthermore, when residents know they will have to pay extra money in exchange for eating nutritionally deficient food, it makes people feel it is not worth it, and they will, in turn, avoid continuing this harmful lifestyle. Preventing diseases, such as hypertension, diabetes, and cardiovascular diseases, is significantly cheaper than treating them, and it lowers the strain on healthcare institutions as well. For example, Japanese citizens are among the world's healthiest partly because they consume less fast food that is high in harmful substances, including sugar, salt, and saturated fats, a pattern supported in part by government-enacted taxation on junk food. To conclude, although imposing a tax on unhealthy food may be considered an oppression, I am convinced that it is a wise decision. By introducing an additional levy, governments can not only reduce the burden on public hospitals but also improve public health.