Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children, while others think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both the sides and give your opinion.

It is important to tackle the growing problem of obesity among kids. While some people argue that it is the responsibility of the government to tackle this problem, in my opinion, parents are responsible for the increase in the number of obese children. This essay is going to highlight both the views and support them with relevant examples. Firstly, exercise, such as playing sport is important to control obesity. One important reason why people may think it is the duty of the government to tackle the issue is, Although it is often mandatory for schools to have sports infrastructure, these days, many schools don't as the authorities usually approve their licences without prior inspections. For example, my cousin studies in a school that has classes for ten hours and does not include any physical activities as they lack the infrastructure. It can be a problem as physical well-being plays a crucial role in controlling obesity. Nevertheless, I believe, it is the responsibility of parents to guide their children to focus on physical activities. This is because children tend to listen to their parent's advice. However, most parents these days are interested only in the academic performance of their kids and prevent them from playing sport citing it as a waste of time. For instance, my friend's parents force him to attend private classes, which eats up all his time and prevents him from playing with other children. If parents encourage their offspring in sports along with studies, then the child may excel in both as physical activity helps improve mental ability. In conclusion, although it is important for the government to ensure that only institutions with proper sporting facilities are given permissions, in my view, it is the responsibility of parents to motivate their children to participate in sports considering that kids often listen to their parents.