It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and dis advantages?

In recent years, the tendency to experience a year break after high school graduation before starting a tertiary education become more popular in such a way many young high school leavers prefer to work or travel for a year before proceeding to the university. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Taking a gap year brings several benefits to students who are inexperienced and unskilful. To commence with, it provides ample time for those who are interested to enhance their abilities and master their skills like communication, foreign language and so forth. In addition, adolescents have a good chance to get some hands-on experience of the job. Moreover, a gap year provide an opportunity to travel around and become familiar with diverse cultures and beliefs that help them to broaden their horizon and improve their life skills. Finally, this period creates an avenue for them to discover their hidden passion and talent and find desired filed to pursue. On the flip side, there are various drawbacks to this phenomenon. To begin, if the planning goes not well, they will lose the track and waste their time. Thereby, the precious time that can spend to do productive activities in the university will be wasted at home. Meanwhile, it will be difficult for students to get used to academic timetables after a long gap. They will lose interest in studying and going to college every day. To sum up, this essay has discussed the benefits and drawbacks involved in having a gap year between leaving high school and university. After thorough analysis, it is necessary to weigh both sides, in order to decide on what works best for each individual.