Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, governments have a budget for scientific research to improve their technological infrastructures. In this way, governments can control the funds to prioritize according to necessary issues. I agree with this idea because the government could direct the tech funds more sufficiently than private institutions and they could focus on necessary issues more. To begin with, generally, governments have limited budgets for scientific research. So, they should be responsible for spending their money on required fields. On the other hand, the private sector would focus on only their problems to solve with technology thanks to scientific developments. Overall, society could not take advantage of it enough. If governments are responsible for funding scientific research, it will give rise to a more comprehensive society in terms of reaching the outputs. Moreover, governments tend to use their sources such as universities and institutions so that people, who work or study there, have an opportunity more with the funds. This policy occurs in a cycle that is a mutual relationship between governments, students, and scholars developing scientific breakthroughs in the long term. In addition, governments could obtain the all results of research to use the following. However, private organizations are reluctant to share information about their research because of competition in the market. Governments could gather all research all around the country so, they could easily exceed problems. To conclude, the government should be responsible for funding scientific research to focus on the needs of nations and conduct them more sufficiently. Yet, private companies have some traits to halt sharing their know-how with others.