Please write in support of the following proposition: “Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries but its disadvantages should not be overlooked.” You should write for an educated, non-specialist audience. Write at least 250 words using your own ideas, knowledge and experience. You should support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The travel industry is getting progressively significant as a wellspring of income to numerous nations, however the drawbacks of this development cannot be ignored. Firstly, travelling has lots of advantages. Economics is the main benefit, especially in developing countries. The income generated can make up a significant proportion of private, local, and national incomes. One of the other direct benefits is the undeniable growth in jobs. For example, hotels, restaurants, bars, and entertainment facilities all see an immediate influx in business from tourism. This then leads to them seeking more employees, giving more opportunities to the locals. On the other hand, tourism brings disadvantages as much as advantages. The increasing crime rate being one of them. Some locals see tourists as easy prey because, not only are they in unfamiliar territory, but also they carry visible items of wealth. Take the city of Paris as an example. The pickpocket is the most prevalent form of crime targeting tourists in the French capital. Therefore, travellers always have to be vigilant with their personal affairs, especially in crowded areas such as trains, metro stations, and any popular tourist areas, which can get annoying. Another disadvantage would be the bad effects it has on the environment. Although tourist money might be put to good use in preserving environments, travel does put burdens on natural resources. For example, pollution became a real problem. When a lot of people visit, they invariably burden the transportation system and contribute to pollution, locally and globally. Flying one mile in a plane produces about 53 pounds of carbon dioxide, and tourists account for almost 60% of air travel. Not to mention that pollution has a direct impact on air quality, thus on health. Long-term exposure to polluted air can have permanent health effects such as developing diseases like asthma, bronchiole, and possibly cancer. To conclude, tourism is a massive industry with some remarkable advantages to it in each country. For tourists themselves, the benefits of happiness and well-being are immense. However, even with these advantages, the negatives involved can have too long-lasting effects to be disregarded.