In many countries, weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Extravagant wedding is one of the items to check from the fantasy list of the affluents.In my opinion, it is a sheer wastage of money, which could be used for the education of the poor and these functions also consume a lot of environmental resources, that contribute to the depletion of the environment. This behaviour should be discouraged, as it has multiple ill-effects. Exorbitant celebrations rip the huge amount of savings apart from the pockets of the host. These 1-2 days functions only provide a little fun, but has no intrinsic value in it, that can uptick the society. The same fund, if donated to the education of needy children, can not only broaden the horizon of the knowledge, but also help them to acquire earning opportunities latter. In India, according to the NSO report, approximately 30% of the kids of the poor do not get the basic level of education. Hence, if that amount is infused in the learning infrastructure, that can increase the literacy rate in the country and also flourish the nation in the long run. In the times of environmental deterioration, the riches have found a new way to exploit the resources of earth by spending highly at celebrations. For example, during a function, a huge amount of electricity is consumed for the decorative purposes, that could be used to provide uninterrupted supply to the villages. Besides, people provide the enormous variety of food items to showcase their standard, which eventually get wasted. All these facilities come with the cost of coal, water, gas and many more elements, which could be consumed for better prospects. In conclusion, it is wise to diverge the money towards social development rather on big-fat receptions, because this development not only can increase the learning and earning chances, but it can also reduce the over exploitation of earth elements. I firmly believe, the high-cost marriage functions are a moribund culture.