Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that funding the public library system is wasteful since the computer network can now achieve most of its functions. I disagree with such claims because although technology helps to grant easier access to information and knowledge, I believe it is nowhere near replacing the library system. Provided that computer technology only exists in the cloud which lacks tangible facilities, it cannot replace local library branch's role as the community centre. For starters, local branches regularly hold off-line events for residents. For example, they provide master-gardener lessons, language exchange sessions, and book-signing events. All those activities require physical space for gathering and cannot be substituted by an online system. Secondly, public libraries can be considered as a haven for deprived people. For those who couldn't afford to install air conditioning, in particular, can enjoy free cold breeze in libraries in the summertime. Another crucial factor to consider is that the public library system offers in-person services that computers don't. To begin with, librarians in local branches can provide free on-site reference consultations. In other words, they assist residents with their research topics and make suggestions on research scopes. At the same time, libraries usually sustain partnerships with academic institutes, which means they can assist users to reach out of topic-related experts. The second point to consider is that public libraries can help save and store antique books. Ancient manual scripts, for instance, need substantial efforts to preserve and restore, whereas the internet would not be able to provide this service. In conclusion, provided that information technology lacks physical presence, I do not consent to the argument that it can swap out the public libraries entirely, nor do I think that it is wasteful to support them financially. On the contrary, I believe public libraries have a significant role in society and deserve to receive more funding from the government.