Some people say that young people are more influenced by their friends than parents or teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, some claim that the elderly affect the behaviour of youngsters the most. I am not supportive of this statement, putting forward that their peers influence them the deepest. It is true that schooling and parenting help mould people’s characters as they spend most of their time with teachers and parents who are often considered role models by youths. They reckon that those elders have their own life experiences and tend to mimic them in their routines. For example, if their parents demonstrate great manners with other people and thus have a remarkable international relationship, children will learn to be polite from their parents. Moreover, parents and teachers can reward and criticize their children, motivating youngsters to follow their instructions to regulate children’s behaviour. Youths’ minds will be influenced dramatically. However, it is their peers that play the dominant role in the development of teenagers. Actually, society is developing at a staggering speed, creating a considerable generation gap between the elders and juveniles. So teenagers may suppose the words of the elders are kind of old-fashioned and refuse to follow them. By contrast, the cognitions of their peers and themselves are quite similar, and one’s friends could think of his position. They may consider that their suggestion is more reliable. Moreover, teenagers can be affected by the environment. During school time, classmates will create an atmosphere for students to immerse in and affect their behaviour. For example, when entering a classroom with many students studying silently, youngsters tend to keep quiet and study as others do. In a nutshell, though parents and teachers have superior life experiences, teenagers are still influenced the deepest by their peers.