Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums are performing a vital role to aware the society about the history. Momentarily, many museums all over the world are collecting the entry fees to the visitors, whereas few of them are providing the services at free of cost. In my opinion, the practice of charging the entry fees at museums consists of innumerable merits and few demerits; which discussed in the essay further. To begin with, the collection of nominal fees enables the museum to be self-reliant and strengthen them fiscally. Most of the museums are governed by the local authorities to preserve the valuable heritage of the aboriginal traditions and cultures. By conducting few entry fees, the authority can get good monetary support to maintain the infrastructure and monuments for the future generations. Moreover, the financially strong museums could organise the thing in interesting ways to attract more visitors. As a result, the purpose of it could be served effectively. For instance, the entry fees collected by museum could appoint guides for the visitors and generate more employment in that region. Thus, the minimal charges are worth for the visitor to spend at a museum. On the other hand, such taxation on museum might discourage the visitors and ultimately their numbers may decline. In this digital world, the people could gain the information in their smart phones of computers with the help of the internet. Although, museums are ideal places to gain the information, the charges of the museum will provoke the visitors to gain the information through the internet. For example, the history of many civilizations is available on the internet with videos and graphics at free of cost; which influence the youth more than the museums. In conclusion, there are manifold merits of charging the museum visitor, while there is only a single threat of decay it importance to the people. Thus, the benefits of the charging the visitors at museums outweigh its drawback.