When people live in a foreign country, they should follow local traditions and customs. Do you agree or not?

Given the pivotal role of identity and roots, the question of whether or not people should hold on to their own countries' traditions wherever they go. One common perspective that many people, myself included, advocate is that it is necessary to adhere to the culture and tradition of the nation they are living in. Opponents of the opinion that people do not need to follow the manners of foreign countries they settle down cite the fact that it is a great way to express their patriotism and historical identity, which always reminds them about their roots. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in the fact that holding on to their own cultural background can cause difficulties in socialising and adapting to a new place due to not being on intimate terms with the locals. That being the case, the immigrants may isolate themselves from the local community and feel a sense of isolation and inferiority when they have gone abroad. That is why following the traditions and rules of new countries is important to guarantee a good life. What is more, learning about new nations is a great way to expand knowledge about new things, such as landscapes, history, customs and community and build a sense of belonging there. Perhaps more importantly, this shows respect and appreciation to the locals when putting down roots in a new country. This presence of phenomenon is observable in Vietnam, the newcomers wearing traditional costumes in special festivals receive respectful and welcoming attitudes from others. Therefore, embracing local traditions is necessary for fostering cross-cultural interactions. In conclusion, with the aforementioned reasons, I strongly support the belief that adapting to new cultural and traditional manners is crucial and should be essential instead of discretionary.