Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language in in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days, a lot of people say that becoming a multilingual is only beneficial if you want to work or study in a foreign country, but others believe that there are more reasons to learn a new language. I agree with the second statement, and will discuss both view points. Learning a language is crucial if people want to study or work in other countries. If people want to get a job at a company or study in a university, which is located in a different part of the world, they must learn the primary language of that business or school. Without it, their chances of getting a job or an admission are close to zero. Therefore, companies, such as the British Council and IDP were created to test peoples knowledge of English, and those who pass get permission to live, work, and study in the English speaking countries. In addition, Learning a new language can help us maintain a world peace. In today's world, there are a lot of cultural misunderstandings happing in every part of the world, which sometimes lead to not only racist remarks but also a war. By grasping a new tongue, people will understand each other on a new level, which could, potentially, stop all the wars. For instance, western countries used to make fun of Indians for their beliefs; however, after learning their language, they understood why they had such assumptions. In conclusion, I disagree that learning languages benefit only our personal and professional lives. I believe, as discussed in the 3rd paragraph, it has the power to make the world a better place to live in.