In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The development of technology provides easier and cheaper access to reading materials. There is a popular opinion that someday people will stop paying for books and newspapers because they will get them on the Internet for free. But the future is here and people are still buying books, also physical books are known for their smell. These facts make me believe that we will continue to purchase offline books. To begin with, we have been living for more than 2 decades with internet access and a whole new generation has been raised with electronics. In spite of this, there are many young folks who still prefer physical books. To illustrate, 79% of students choose to read printed fiction literature, according to a recent survey by "ITMO" university on book preferences. Respondents say that it is due to the feeling of leisure, they want to have rest from the screens that surround us everywhere. Furthermore, youth-oriented stores such as "Marwin" (the most popular chain of stores in Kazakhstan) make around 20% of their revenue by selling books. Moreover, about 35% of space is devoted to paper materials such as books, articles, anime etc. Correspondingly, the popularity of printed literature is timeless. Likewise, nothing can replace the wonderful smell of books and the magnificent joy of touching them. For instance, the smell research by "Harvard" shows that the aroma of paper is most people's favorite. Particularly, contacting and feeling the smell of a book increases dopamine levels by 15% along with other hormones responsible for happiness, whereas zero growth occurs while reading e- books. Subsequently, people are way more likely to go for paper versions of books to fulfil their free time needs. In conclusion, people will continue to enjoy reading physical books and will be willing to pay for it as well as they still pay for other hobbies. Perhaps it will be one of the things that will keep us in the real world.