Some people think that it is good for a country’s culture to broadcast foreign films and TV shows. Others, however, think it is best to produce local films and shows. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, a myriad of cultural aspects has been included in movies as a method to engage the audiences. Although broadcasting foreign films and TV shows is the benefit of a country's culture, producing local films and shows also play an important role in the culture of a country. There are a variety of reasons why a country should encourage foreign filmography. First, it would emphasize the distinguishable aspects of the host country ’s culture. For example, by broadcasting movies with cultural diversity, viewers could identify the differences of their culture and other countries’ culture, which make it conducive for them to recognize the beauty of their own culture. Second, it is an opportunity for the audience to spot and fix the inappropriate aspects remaining in their culture. Therefore, their culture would be more viable in modern days. It is clear that by producing local films and TV show, the culture of the country will be greatly promoted. Firstly, if the director successfully includes the beauty of the country ’s culture in a film, the audience will be notified and be proud of their culture. For instance, in several Vietnamese movies, the image of Ao Dai, a Vietnamese traditional garment, is usually used, which evokes patriotism and reminds the audience the beauty of their people and land. Secondly, this approach can acknowledge viewers of seemingly forgotten cultural aspect, but has been vitally important in one’s life. As a result, the audience would acknowledge the symbols indicated in the movies and thus conserving it and passing it to the next generation. In conclusion, encourage foreign films could benefit the country culture in a variety of ways while making movies about the country ’s culture could also be an effective way to remind the audience of the value of their culture.