Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days many people prefer to have their own business instead of working for someone else. Due to increasing competition, people face a lot of problems while working for any organization, therefore, most adults want to be self-employed. However, there are certain disadvantages of owning a business which will be discussed in this essay. Youngsters, these days, do not like to work for private organizations owing to the fact that a private employment does not provide any job security. It has been evident in the past that most of the companies lay off their employees whenever the business do not perform well. In such situations, employers find it difficult to pay the wages, hence they start cost cutting by reducing the number of workers. As a result, many people loss their job during recession. Another reason of losing interest in job might be the longest working hours in private fields. Most organizations have long as well as odd working hours, due to which people do not get enough time to spend with family, hence, they got stressed out. Although people enjoy being their own boss, yet there are few disadvantages of being self-employed. Firstly, loss of business, due to unavoidable circumstance, can put the owner in the financial crisis and one may find it very difficult to cope with such situation. As a result, he might be in debt and get depressed too. Secondly, there is not any fixed income in the business as there is on the job. Therefore, whenever there is less sale or any kind of loss, it becomes difficult for the owner to take care of the expenses, for instance, worker's salary and rent. In conclusion, working for any organization demands more work, but provide a fixed salary. Being self-employed gives you more family time, but one has to be always prepared to handle the crisis.