Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, pollution is becoming a serious problem. One reason for that is the production of an excessive amount of rubbish. There are many reasons behind this phenomenon and governments should find solutions to this problem. Firstly, we are becoming victims of consumerism and we have the urge to buy more and more products, even when we do not need them. This is emphasized because cheap products are available and thus, people continue to buy more. For example, many big companies offer dupe versions of expensive clothes and raise attention and interest. By choosing those inexpensive alternatives, a lot of plastic is used and rubbish is produced. Moreover, the quality of the fabric is extremely poor, in fact, people throw those purchases away after a few uses. In addition to that, single-use products, such as cutlery, are being used by an increasing number of people. Additionally, many products come with excessive packaging, much of which is non-recyclable. For example, it is common for supermarkets to sell many plastic packages that contain sliced fruits. And besides, there is a lack of public awareness and education on waste management, especially in the poorer countries. People are often unaware of the environmental impact of their waste and some of them do not even know how to recycle properly. In many areas, recycling facilities are limited and people do not have the right equipment to recycle in the best way. Therefore, governments should educate their citizens with public campaigns and introduce new rules in order to make everyone more efficient. Moreover, they should make recycling easier by introducing more bins on the streets. Governments should raise awareness and reduce the use of plastic packages and ban single-use products.