The internet has transformed the way the information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with internet and what solutions can you suggest?

It is clear that the internet has led to changes in the way people access and distribute information. This essay will explore two of the problems caused by these changes and propose some possible measures which might address them. Firstly, one concern related to the sharing of information is that it may now be more vulnerable to theft. This is because these days more private information is being stored in a database compared to the past when only minimal personal data was saved. This might lead to severe consequences if the data is not safeguarded by proper security measures. For example, a cyber attack on yahoo resulted in hackers having access to bank details of millions of users. This issue can be tackled by legally making it mandatory for organizations that handle such data to use certified anti-theft softwares, which can result in the data being more secure from the cyber criminals. With regards to the consumption of information, one pressing problem is that most of what we read online is not true. Whereas previously much of the news came from newspapers which had a moderation team to verify the articles before publishing them, anyone who has access to the internet can post articles as there is no one to validate them. For instance, a village in India was fooled through social media that gold is poisonous and urged them dump it, which people followed and lost most of their valuables. This problem could be addressed by enforcing social networking companies to hire moderators, whose job would be to validate the posts. In conclusion, two of the main information -related problems created by internet are vulnerability of data and the spread of non-factual news. These problems can be managed via law-enforced installation of cyber-security software and hiring of moderators for social platforms.