Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

The increment of access to technology and the internet has affected the screen time of children. Instead of being active and playing outside, some kids prefer to sit and watch movies or play games on their gadgets. While this might bring educational benefits, I believe that too much time on the screen will have negative impacts on children's development. There are some reasons behind this phenomenon. First, parents who are both working might find it easier to entertain their children by giving them gadgets from an early age. This event builds the child's habit and even addiction which might be difficult to break. Moreover, a lack of social or outdoor activities can be the cause of this event. For example, children living in the apartment with no playground or neighbour have no other form of entertainment than their devices. This event raises concerns on the children's physical and psychological development. Children who spend more time on their screens might endure sight problems due to the high duration of light exposure. Also, the sedentary lifestyle caused by low physical activities might result in obesity. In addition, children's social interactions are mostly done online, reducing their social skills in real life. This might affect their performance in school since they will have a hard time adapting to their environment moreover focusing on the subject taught. In conclusion, exposing technology at such an early age needs to be taken into account carefully. I argue that too much screen time can impact negatively on the children's physical and psychological development. Thus, parent has to be more considerate of the gadget usage of their children.