Each year, the crime rate increases, what are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

At this present time, the number of crimes is ever increasing. The reasons why people commit crimes are countless. However, drugs and alcohol play a major role. To solve this problem, governments can either focus on draconian punishments or tackle drug and alcohol abuse. On the one hand, it is indispensable that the vast majority of people around the world suffer from depression and anxiety.Unfortunately, they escape feeling these negative emotions by doing drugs. Although, these substances help alleviate their emotional pain, it poses a threat to their cognitive behaviours. As a result, drug users are more likely to commit crimes than others who are not addicted. For example, According to statistical data in Italy, about 90% of addicted individuals have been in custodial sentences for at least once in their entire lifetime. On the other hand, it is imperative that toughening criminal laws and introducing longer sentences will help reduce the number of crimes. In other words, the leading authorities are responsible for preventing use, sale and trafficking in narcotic. For instance, in 2014, the Indian government has announced about new regulations aiming to threat the armed criminal gangs to hinder their brutal actions. Therefore, most parts in India now are free of narcotics. In addition, if governments allocate funds for drug and alcohol rehabilitation programmes, it would certainly reduce the criminal activities. In conclusion, it is true that it takes a tremendous amount of efforts to make the society a safer place to live in; cracking down on criminals and enforcing strong laws are mandatory as well as providing healing programmes to eliminate the dependency on stimulants.