In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of people facing health problems due to eating junk food is grown in several countries. In order to solve this problem, some individuals consider that the authority should establish higher taxes on that type of food. I completely disagree with this opinion, because as reality shows, increasing tax rates does not change customers’ behaviour. First of all, when people are addicted to some products, it is hard to stop consuming them, and as a result, increasing costs put people in a difficult position. They spend more money on food products, and for example, they are not able to get other high-quality education, health and other services. Following that enormous amount of taxes lead to the development of the illegal market. Consequently, the quality of food decreases and the state budget can lose financial resources necessary for solving social problems. Furthermore, when the government raises taxes in order to reduce the unhealthy food consumption, the price for this kind of food goes up, and the poor cannot afford to get it and the damage of their medical condition, reducing, however, this policy has another side, and sometimes they lose the opportunity to get enough calories because healthy food usually is expensive. In conclusion, based on the analysis of both opinions, it can be said that establishing high taxes on junk food is not an effective policy to reduce the consumption of them. Instead, it would put more economic pressure on poor society. In my opinion, It is a better policy that government should try to raise awareness among citizens, especially in schools and universities.