Some people believe that the main environmental problems of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people suggest that the disappearance of particular species of plants and animals is the main environmental problem, while others suppose that more issues should also be addressed. In my opinion, although the loss of some plants and animals is certainly a major concern, other environmental problems such as those happening in our modern society should be greatly valued as well. On one hand, people definitely have a moral obligation to safeguard the survival of different species as the extinction of one type of animal may simply cause an irreversible damage by destroying the balance of the food chain, and further induce a decrease in the population of other types of animal. For example, the extinction of vole is very likely to negatively affect the existence of other animals such as fox, eagle and snake, which are commonly defined as the predictors of vole. On the other hand, other serious environmental issues also significantly influence our daily life, especially those that are currently happening in the modern society. One example here could be the human overpopulation. This refers to the idea when the human population in a certain geographic area exceeds that place's carrying capacity. This may lead to many social-related consequences like food shortage, air pollution and an increase in unemployment. Without addressing this problem properly, our standard of living, as well as the future development of our society will never be guaranteed. In conclusion, it is no doubt that the extinction of certain species of plants and animals can definitely lead to some negative effects such as breaking the balance of the eco-system and influence the diversity of nature. However, other environmental issues such as overpopulation and climate change should also be valued as they are also possible of causing serious impacts such as air pollution and precipitation.