Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones is disrupting social interaction. Do you agree or disagree?

Advancements in technology have changed the way we communicate with one another. Many people, however, are divided among their opinion that mobile technology is impeding the way humans interact socially. I personally believe that technology is indeed making social interaction more effective and will support this view by presenting arguments in the following paragraphs. To begin with, strides in technology have provided us with a means of interaction that were previously unavailable. Commercialization of high speed internet paved way for applications like WhatsApp, IMO etc. These applications allow its users to seamlessly communicate with their loved ones who may be living thousands of miles apart from them. This was not possible in the past as the only way to talk to your long distant relatives was either through expensive phones or via traditional letter writing, Besides, amid the virus outbreak, utilization of laptops and mobile phones has become more relevant than ever before. At a time when social distancing has become necessary to limit the spread of the virus, it is this very technology that is allowing people to socialize and communicate digitally during these trying times. Very recently the University of Arsenal conducted a study which found out that once this epidemic ends more and more people would rely on electronic gadgets to talk to each other To conclude, technology has only improved the methods used by humans to interact and in no way can be held responsible for hindering our socializing patterns. This essay discussed the role technology has played in making means of communication cheap and bringing it within reach of everyone.