It is more important for school children to learn about their local history rather than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some history lessons in schools focus on the history of the children ’s country, others take a more global approach and teach the history of other countries as well. I believe it is important to learn about the past of one’s own country but also the history of the world. On the one hand, there are benefits to learning the history of one’s own country. It can foster a sense of pride and patriotism for children in the place they have come from by teaching them about the many achievements of their nation over history, such as wars they have won or freedoms gained. It is also important for children to understand where the customs and values of their country have emanated from in order for them to feel that they too would like to continue these into the future. Both of these will mean the children will grow up feeling a sense of belonging to where they have come from. On the other hand, it is important to learn about the rest of the world too. Every country has a different history and culture and if children are not taught about this, they will lack the analytical abilities to really understand their own nation and how it compares to other places. Countries are also intertwined in their histories. There have been two World Wars and so it is impossible to fully appreciate these without learning about world history. All in all, it is paramount that children understand history at both the national and international level. Learning only about one’s own country would result in a very narrow-minded view of the world.