In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Nowadays, there has been a significant rise in the use of illegal drugs among professional athletes. This essay will explain the causes of the upward trend and the way out of it. To begin, one of the major causes of doping as seen with athletes is the strong desire for the achievement of success. A recent study showed that 89% of footballers who took in contraband substances did so because they were desperate to win, they want to get the trophy by all means. Moreover, the financial benefit that comes with winning against an opponent leaves the players with the drive to commit such crime.Futhermore, another reason for such substance use is because of social pressure, this is due to the muscular image projected by the media and other social media platforms. The result of this is that the sportsmen result of doping in other to measure up to the social standard and also feel confident. Next, a good way to solve the problem is to initiate a laboratory testing system for all players before any competition, and anyone who fails the test should be severely punished by getting the person involved dismissed from ever participating. Additionally, the huge amount of money that athletes earn should be reduce on other to control the competition among them. To conclude, doping is not only against sportsmanship, but is also dangerous to health. Therefore, it ought to be eliminated.