Write an essay of 250 words on the topic below. You have 30 minutes. ( May 2023) People are working harder and longer hours in our modern society. That means they are also earning more money for themselves and their families. But does this lead to a happier society? Why, or why not? Discuss your ideas and support them with reasons and examples

It is certainly true that many people worldwide are working for a long time and they are working hard. However, they earn more money for themselves and their families, they are suffering from many issues like health problems, lack of leisure time or less time for personal development. Working for long hours and working hard has bad effects on our health and it may cause dangerous diseases like blood pressure diseases or heart diseases. Moreover, recent research has proved that sitting in the same place for a long time is the main reason for back and neck pain. Consequently, some countries like the UAE have started laws to limit the number of working hours. Secondly, while some people stay at the office for a long time, they will not have any free time, so they will not have enough time to spend with their families. Moreover, they will have less leisure time and this will lead to fewer hobbies. For instance, an employee who works for more than 50 hours per week, cannot do any activities during the weekend he will try to stay at home to rest. Consequently, this will make him most of the family celebrations and family gatherings, this will affect his mentality in the end. Also, he will not find any time for professional development because of the long day at work, eventually, he cannot improve his skills because of the lack of workshops that he did not attend. In conclusion, however, spending most of the day working hard will improve our financial situation, but it will affect badly our health and our free time.