The introduction of social network has had more positive effects on military ways of working and communicating than negative ones.

Social network sites have revolutionized the way of working and communicating, especially for defence force personnel. Recently, it has often been argued these platforms bring an easier access for connecting family bonds and showing the point of views. However, the opposite view has also been expressed. In this essay, it will be asserted the disadvantage aspects of social media for military personnel outweigh the advantages; regarding the probability of intelligence leaks and the spread of sensitive issues. First and foremost, social media sometimes is giving a boon for those military personnel who live far away from their families for their duties. In this situation they might posting their current situation and condition to bridge the gap between family bonds because of homesickness feelings; but it could lead to intelligence leaks. For instance, if military personnel are posting their situation during the war on a social media, the enemy would know where exactly their positions are by using the advancement of technology. The enemy may get easily to attack them as they recognise by hijacking the information which shown on social media. Hence, the usage of social media should be limited to those military personnel to avoid leaking of intelligence information. On the other hand, social network sites have been found useful for expressing people’s points of views, and military personnel are no exception. They could easily reveal their personal opinion since it could be done only just one single click on their phone at anytime and anywhere. For example, a soldier in the United States has been sacked because of arguing his government policy regarding a sensitive issue on Facebook. He was accused of disrespecting the president and conducting the nature to bring discredit upon the armed forces credibility. Therefore, presenting a personal opinion on social media brings a high risk for the military personnel because it represents the defence force in general. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are some advantages of social network sites on military ways of working and communicating, it is clear that social media brings about disadvantages to military personnel in terms of intelligence leaks and the spread of sensitive issues which lead to the thorny effects for not only military personnel themselves, but also the credibility of the defence force.