Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a wrong notion that the volunteers are worthless to make the environment better. Governments and big corporate houses have huge resources and they can save the environment in a better way but underestimating common people is wrong. Therefore, I completely disagree with this opinion. In the following paragraphs, detailed reasoning will be given. To begin with, small societies collect the funds from the society members and maintain the nearby areas. Though the fund they generate is limited, but it looks exceptionally well that they care for the surroundings. Secondly, people protest against the political houses for their decisions to cut the trees for the development purposes. For example, in Mumbai, trees were cut to make the metro lines. For this reason, common public went on a hunger strike to save the plants. This shows their love for the nature. Furthermore, to save the environment, the first and the foremost approach should be to work collectively. It is not possible for the heads of the state and the big Multinational companies to take care of the whole of the country, even though they are financially strong. Moreover, in schools and colleges, several campaigns are initiated to inculcate the values in young children and adults regarding this issue. In conclusion, a team effort is needed to save the surroundings. In my opinion, only the business houses and the political heads cannot do this. The strong attention should be given by all people to conserve our nature. Stringent laws should be made and the punishments must be given to the defaulters.